OLD Media Moves

13 seek SABEW board seats

January 27, 2009

Thirteen members of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers are running for the seven vacant seats on the organization’s board of governors.

The top six vote-getters will serve three-year terms. The next highest vote-getter will serve the remaining two years of the term of Jill Jorden Spitz of the Arizona Daily Star, who is joining the officer’s ladder as treasurer.

Three candidates are incumbents: Josh Mills of Baruch College, Chris Roush of the University of North Carolina and David Wilson of Bloomberg News.

Three incumbents decided to leave the board: John Corrigan of the Los Angeles Times, Andre Jackson of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Susan Tompor of the Detroit Free Press.

Voting begins April 26 in Denver and closes the following day at noon. Members must attend the annual conference to vote. Institutional members receive one vote.

Others running for the board are: Los Angeles Times assignment editor Sharon Bernstein, Crain’s New York Business editorial director Greg David, Markets Media editor Natasha Gural, McClatchy Newspapers national economics correspondent Kevin Hall, International Herald Tribune deputy business editor Julie Makinen, former Cleveland Plain Dealer business editor Paul O’Donnell, New Orleans Times-Picayune business editor Kim Quillen, Reuters writer Walden Siew, Freelance writer Maya Payne Smart and MSNBC.com executive business editor Marty Wolk.

Read their bios and statements here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.