OLD Media Moves

Four journalists named McGraw fellows

December 14, 2021

Posted by Chris Roush

Four veteran journalists have been named the latest recipients of the McGraw Fellowship for Business Journalism. Each of the winning projects will receive a grant of up to $15,000.

The new Fall 2021 McGraw Fellows will explore subjects ranging from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture’s inequitable treatment of African American farmers and the growth of the “rent-to-own” housing market, to trends in overtime pay for U.S. employees and the difficulties migrant workers can face in receiving back wages they are owed.

The McGraw Fellowships, an initiative of the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Center for Business Journalism at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at the City University of New York, were created in 2014 to support ambitious coverage of critical issues related to the U.S. economy and business. The Fellowships – awarded twice a year – enable experienced journalists to produce deeply reported works of investigative or enterprise business journalism.

The first McGraw Fellows were named in July 2014; roughly 50 journalists have since won McGraw Fellowships. Nearly 100 journalists working on stories across a wide array of subjects applied for the latest round of the Fellowships. In addition to financial backing, the McGraw Center provides Fellows with editorial guidance and assistance in placing their stories with media outlets.

The next deadline to apply will be March 31, 2022. For more information, please consult the main McGraw Fellowship page and our FAQ. You’ll find examples of our previous Fellows’ published work on our Fellowship Stories page.

To read about the journalists, go here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.