OLD Media Moves

New SABEW board members elected

May 1, 2006

Personal finance columnist Susan Tompor of the Detroit Free Press, markets editor John Corrigan of the Los Angeles Times and business editor Steve Keating of the Denver Post were elected to the Society of American Business Editors and Writers board of governors at the SABEW annual meeting on Monday. Keating’s position is a one-year term to fill a vacancy on the board.

Susan TomporRe-elected to the board were Reuters’ Greg McCune, Baruch College’s Josh Mills, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch’s Andre Jackson, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution’s Mark Braykovich and Rob Reuteman of the Rocky Mountain News. Reuteman’s term is two years.

Ten people ran for the seven open seats. The six candidates with the most votes will serve regular three-year terms. The candidate with the next highest vote count will fill the remaining year of Bernie Kohn’s term. Kohn, of The (Baltimore) Sun, was elected Secretary-Treasurer at the October board meeting.

The winners will begin their terms at the conference. All of the other board members serve three-year terms.

In addition, Vice President Dave Kansas of the Wall Street Journal succeeds President Jon Lansner of the Orange County Register. Gail DeGeorge, of the (South Florida) Sun-Sentinel, is the incoming vice president.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.