OLD Media Moves

Loeb Awards announce 2018 finalists

May 17, 2018

Posted by Chris Roush

LoebThe following 2018 Gerald Loeb Award finalists were chosen from more than 470 entries submitted by local, regional and national outlets:

Audio Category Finalists

  • Rachel Estabrook, Nathaniel Minor, and Ben Markus for “The Taxman” – Colorado Public Radio
  • Amber McKinney, Bill Donahue, Alex Lawson, Steven Trader, and Kelley Marcano for “Law360’s Pro Say Podcast” – Law360
  • David Brancaccio, Katie Long, Nicole Childers, Ben Tolliday, Daniel Ramirez, and Paulina Velasco for “Robot-Proof Jobs” – Marketplace
  • Laura Sullivan, Meg Anderson, Rick Young, Emma Schwartz, and Fritz Kramer for “The Housing Fix” – NPR and FRONTLINE

Beat Reporting Category Finalists

  • Liz Kowalczyk for “Pushing for Profit, Failing at Care” – The Boston Globe
  • Oscar Williams-Grut for “Exposing Crypto ‘Pump-and-Dumps'” – Business Insider
  • Julia Angwin, Jeff Larson, Ariana Tobin, Madeleine Varner, Noam Scheiber, and Hannes Grassegger for “Automating Hate” – ProPublica
  • Rebecca Robbins for “Dr. Patrick Soon-Shiong’s Business Empire” – STAT

Breaking News Category Finalists

  • Paresh Dave, David Pierson, Joe Fox, and Ben Muessig for “Snap Inc.’s IPO” – Los Angeles Times
  • Mike Isaac, Farhad Manjoo, Kevin Roose, and Ashwin Seshagiri for “Ouster at Uber” – The New York Times
  • Joel Schectman, Dustin Volz, and Jack Stubbs for “Source Code” – Reuters
  • Dana Mattioli, Anna Wilde Matthews, Sharon Terlep, Charley Grant, and Laura Stevens for “The CVS-Aetna Deal” – The Wall Street Journal
  • Damian Paletta, Heather Long, Philip Rucker, Jeff Stein, Mike DeBonis, and Erica Werner for “The GOP Tax Bill” – The Washington Post

Commentary Category Finalists

  • Shirley Leung for “Portfolio: Shirley Leung” – The Boston Globe
  • Ed Silverman for “The Pharmalot View” – STAT
  • Andy Kessler for “Andy Kessler’s Portfolio” – The Wall Street Journal
  • Catherine Rampell for “Inside the GOP’s Economic Policy Agenda” – The Washington Post

Explanatory Category Finalists

  • Neil Irwin for “Corporate Strategy and the Economy” – The New York Times
  • Robert Smith, Stacey Vanek Smith, Elizabeth Kulas, Bryant Urstadt, and Alex Goldmark for “Planet Money Goes to Space” – NPR’s Planet Money
  • Marshall Allen for “Wasted Medicine” – ProPublica
  • Brian Grow, John Shiffman, Blake Morrison, Elizabeth Culliford, Reade Levinson, Nicholas Bogel-Burroughs, Zach Goelman, and Mike Wood for “The Body Trade” – Reuters

Feature Category Finalists

  • Bianca Bosker for “The Mayo Mogul” – The Atlantic
  • David Segal, Michael Corkery, and Jessica Silver-Greenberg for “Addiction Inc.” – The New York Times
  • Patrick Radden Keefe for “Trump’s Favorite Tycoon: The Washington Misadventures of Carl Icahn” – The New Yorker
  • Tony Bartelme for “Stickin’ With the Pig: A Tale of Loyalty and Loss” – The Post and Courier

Images/Graphics/Interactives Category Finalists

  • Eric Roston and Blacki Migliozzi for “How a Melting Arctic Changes Everything” – Bloomberg News
  • Robin Kwong, David Blood, Leslie Hook, Joanna Kao, Nicolai Knoll, and Callum Locke for “The Uber Game” – Financial Times
  • Paradise Papers Reporting Team for “Paradise Papers: Visualizing Stories of Financial Secrecy” – International Consortium of Investigative Journalists
  • Quoctrung Bui, Conor Dougherty, Adam Pearce, Alyssa Schukar, Emily Badger, and Susan Chira for “‘Visual First’ Projects” – The New York Times
  • Christine Chan, Matthew Weber, and the Reuters team for “The Trump Effect Graphics” – Reuters

International Category Finalists

  • Eric Talmadge, Tim Sullivan, Hyung-jin Kim, Martha Mendoza, Han Guan Ng, and Jung-yoon Kim for “Republic of Kim” – The Associated Press
  • Paradise Papers Reporting Team for “Paradise Papers: Secrets of the Global Elite” – International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, The New York Times and The Guardian US
  • Matt Richtel, Andrew Jacobs, Dionne Searcey, Thomas Fuller, and Anahad O’Connor for “Planet Fat” – The New York Times
  • Josh Chin, Liza Lin, Eva Dou, Clément Bürge, Wenxin Fan, Natasha Khan, Dan Strumpf, Natasha Khan, Charles Rollet, Jeremy Page, Elliot Bentley, Jenny O’Grady, Tyler Paige, and Giulia Marchi for “China’s Surveillance State” – The Wall Street Journal

Investigative Category Finalists

  • Leslie Picker, Scott Zamost, Dawn Giel, Chris Mulligan, and Jackie Dessel for “Broken Bonds” – CNBC
  • Emily Steel, Michael S. Schmidt, Jodi Kantor, Megan Twohey, Susan Chira, and Catrin Einhorn for “Culture of Harassment” – The New York Times
  • Jason Szep, Peter Eisler, Tim Reid, Lisa Girion, and Grant Smith for “Shock Tactics” – Reuters
  • Mike Baker and Justin Mayo for “Quantity of Care” – The Seattle Times
  • Brett Murphy for “Rigged: Forced Into Debt. Worked Past Exhaustion. Left With Nothing.” – USA TODAY Network

Local Category Finalists

  • Jessica Boehm and Catherine Reagor for “HOA Foreclosures” – The Arizona Republic
  • Jason Grotto, Sandhya Kambhampati, and Hal Dardick for “The Tax Divide” – Chicago Tribune & ProPublica Illinois
  • Raquel Rutledge, Rick Barrett, and John Diedrich for “Burned Investigation” – Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Dan Egan for “Oil and Water” – Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Personal Finance Category Finalists

  • Paul Kiel and Hannah Fresques for “Too Broke for Bankruptcy” – ProPublica
  • Susie Cagle for “Would You Take Out a Loan for a Pair of Jeans?” – Racked
  • Ron Lieber for “The Equifax Breach” – The New York Times
  • Stacy Cowley, Jessica Silver-Greenberg, and Natalie Kitroeff for “Student Debt” – The New York Times

Video Category Finalists

  • Bill Whitaker, Ira Rosen, Sam Hornblower, and Robert Zimet for “60 Minutes and the Washington Post: The Whistleblower” – CBS News 60 Minutes
  • Emily Rand, Vladimir Duthiers, Jim Axelrod, Len Tepper, Rayner Ramirez, and Mosheh Oinounou for “CBS News: Made in America*” – CBS News
  • Chris Buck, Kyra Darnton, Solana Pyle, Laurence B. Chollet, Karen M. Sughrue, Erik German, Maria Villaseñor, Noah Madoff, and Jeff Bernier for “Future of Money” – Retro Report & Quartz
  • Shawn Killebrew, Suroosh Alvi, and Andrea Blake for “The Future of Firearms” – VICE on HBO

The 2018 Gerald Loeb Awards banquet and celebration will be held on Monday, June 25, at Capitale in New York City.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.