OLD Media Moves

Eight running for SABEW board

April 24, 2020

Posted by Chris Roush

Eight journalists are seeking election for the Society for Advancing Business Editors and Writers board of governors.

Voting opens Monday, April 27 and closes at 5 p.m. EDT on Friday, May 1.

Voting members will receive  ballot information direct from the online voting service provider Opavote.org on Monday. If you are the voting member for your newsroom and also have an individual membership, you will receive two separate emails. If your newsroom voting representation has changed, please contact Tess McLaughlin.

Ballots will be cast for eight open seats. Six are three-year terms ending spring 2023 and two are one-year terms ending spring 2021.

The incumbents board members running are:

Cesca Antonelli, Editor-in-Chief, Bloomberg Industry Group
Robert Barba, Spot news editor, Dow Jones Newswires and The Wall Street Journal
Pallavi Gogoi, Chief business editor, NPR
Glenn Hall, Chief editor, Wall Street Journal
Dean Murphy, Associate managing editor of investigations, The New York Times
James B. Nelson, Business editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; instructor, Marquette University

The following two candidates are also running for a seat on the board:

Matthew Goldberg, Consumer banking reporter, Bankrate
Oliver Staley, Culture and lifestyle editor, Quartz

Candidates’ statements of intent.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.