OLD Media Moves

Economist journalists win Elliott Prize

June 9, 2023

Posted by Chris Roush

Sue-Ling Wong and David Rennie

Sue-Lin Wong and David Rennie are the 2023 winners of the Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia from the Asia Society for their coverage of China in The Economist.

The Oz Prize is awarded by an independent jury, which said in making the award:

“We are pleased to award the 2023 Osborn Elliott Prize to The Economist’s Sue-Lin Wong and David Rennie for their deeply reported, engagingly accessible coverage of China. In an eight-part podcast, ‘The Prince,’ Wong explained how Xi Jinping skillfully navigated his way to power, drawing on the personal history and circumstances that shaped his world. Rennie’s definitive primer on what Xi’s rising, sometimes righteous, often resentful Communist Party-led China wants offers insight into looming geopolitical and economic challenges.”

The Osborn Elliott Prize is the premier honor bestowed for excellence in journalism on Asia. It honors the late Osborn Elliott, legendary journalist and longtime Newsweek editor, who set new standards for reporting and editing and became one of the earliest practitioners of civic journalism.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.