OLD Media Moves

Changes to Loeb Award judges

May 8, 2006

The G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson School of Management announced on Monday changes to the final judging panel of the Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

Named as new final judges are: Stephen J. Adler, editor-in-chief, BusinessWeek; Amanda Bennett, editor and vice president, The Philadelphia Inquirer; Jane Berentson, managing editor, Inc.; Glenn Kramon, assistant managing editor, The New York Times; Judy D. Olian, dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management; and Glen Rochkind, vice president, business news, CNBC.

The Loeb Awards, considered the most prestigious honor in the field, recognize journalists who have contributed to the public’s understanding of business, finance and the economy. Loeb Awards final judges serve as advisors to the program and are responsible for selecting winners from among the finalists in the competition categories, as well as the recipients of the career honors, the Lifetime Achievement Award and Lawrence Minard Editor Award.

“All of us affiliated with the Loeb Awards are very pleased to have these leaders in journalism, business news and education join our esteemed panel of Loeb Awards final judges,” said Richard Rodner, associate dean of marketing and communication at UCLA Anderson and president of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation in a release. “Their professional perspective will contribute greatly to our efforts to continually enhance and ensure the relevance of the Loeb Awards program.”

The retirement of several long time members of the Loeb Awards final judging panel was also announced. They included: Soma Golden Behr, former assistant managing editor, The New York Times; Mark Morrison, former managing editor, BusinessWeek; Pamela Thomas-Graham, former chairman of CNBC; and Bruce G. Willison, former dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management.

The new Loeb Awards judges will be joining leaders in the industry who will be continuing on the panel, including Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times; Lou Dobbs, anchor and managing editor, “Lou Dobbs Tonight,” CNN; Steve Forbes, president and editor-in-chief, Forbes; John Hillkirk, executive editor, USA Today; Robert G. Kaiser, associate editor, The Washington Post; Rik Kirkland, global editor, Fortune; Allan Sloan, Wall Street editor, Newsweek; Paul E. Steiger, vice president and managing editor, the Wall Street Journal; and Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg News.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.