OLD Media Moves

Call for entries for best energy reporting at newspapers

January 20, 2007

Each year, the National Press Foundation presents the Thomas L. Stokes Award to a print journalist for the best newspaper writing on the subject of energy. The Thomas L. Stokes Award is now in its 46th year.

The winner of the Award receives $1,000 and a citation. The subject may be any form of energy–oil, gas, coal, nuclear, water, solar, etc. The writing may be reporting, analysis or comment.

For the 2006 award, the work must have been published in a daily newspaper (newsletter or online) in the U.S. between Jan. 1, 2006 and Dec. 31, 2006. The deadline for entries is Jan. 31, 2007.

Each application must contain three identical sets of material for judging. A set should consist of an entry form, a brief biography, and one to three articles on unrelated subjects, or one series of up to three articles on a related subject. Each entry must contain three copies of the contents. The National Press Foundation will not copy material. Entries will not be returned unless accompanied by a stamped self-addressed envelope.

Entries should be sent to:

Stokes Award
National Press Foundation
1211 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 310
Washington, DC 20036

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.