Media News

WSJ’s Siconolfi to receive Bell Award

September 22, 2023

Posted by Chris Roush

Michael Siconolfi

The New York Financial Writers’ Association has selected Michael Siconolfi of The Wall Street Journal as the recipient of the 47th Elliott Bell Award.

The award honors journalists who have made a significant contribution to the field of financial journalism and is named after NYFWA’s inaugural president, Elliott V. Bell, a former Business Week editor.

The Elliott V. Bell Award Committee recognized Siconolfi for his longtime commitment to financial journalism, both as an editor and reporter as well as his mentorship of numerous journalists during his nearly 40 years at the Journal.

Siconolfi, the Journal’s investigation editor, initially joined the paper as a copyreader in 1984. In the years since, he has held several roles within the publication, from an investigative reporter for the front page, to multiple editing positions. He is the winner of four Gerald Loeb awards, among other accolades, and led teams that won Pulitzer Prizes for Investigative Reporting in 2023 and 2015 and the Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting in 2019.

Since 1976, many of the biggest names in financial journalism have joined the list of Elliott V. Bell Award alumni, including Ellen Pollock, Andy Serwer, John McCorry, Gretchen Morgenson, James B. Stewart, Allan Sloan, Paul Steiger and Carol Loomis, among others.

A ceremony will be held Oct. 24 at 6 p.m. at The Journal.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.