Media News

FT Business Book of the Year award seeking entries

April 4, 2022

Posted by Chris Roush

The 18th annual Financial Times Business Book of the Year Award is now accepting entries.

The global award, inaugurated in 2005, carries a top prize of £30,000, which goes to the author or authors of the title that provides the “most compelling and enjoyable” insight into today’s business issues including management, future of work, climate, finance and economics. Each of the other finalists will receive £10,000.

FT editor Roula Khalaf will chair the judging panel. Authors and publishers are invited to submit titles in digital form

This year the deadline is May 31, 2022 for all books published between Nov. 16, 2021 and May 31, 2022.

The deadline is June 30, 2022 for all books published between June 1, 2022 and Nov. 15, 2022.

The longlist will be announced in mid-August, and judges will select up to six finalists for a shortlist, to be announced live by FT Live on Twitter in September. The winner will be named in December at a ceremony in London, where the Bracken Bower Prize for young business authors will also be presented.

Last year’s winner was Nicole Perlroth for “This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race,” published by Bloomsbury Publishing (UK), Bloomsbury (US); an analysis of the threat posed by the arms race between cyber criminals, spies and hackers fighting to infiltrate essential computer systems.

Other recent winners include Sarah Frier in 2020 for “No Filter,” about the rise of Instagram; Caroline Criado Perez in 2019 for “Invisible Women,” her exposé of gender bias; John Carreyrou in 2018 for “Bad Blood,” about the Theranos scandal, and Amy Goldstein in 2017 for “Janesville,” about the impact of plant closures on a Wisconsin town.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.