OLD Media Moves

Stewart to receive Kilgore award

February 25, 2012

Posted by Chris Roush

James Stewart, the Pulitzer Prize winning business columnist for the New York Times, will be presented with DePauw University’s Bernard C. Kilgore Medal for Distinguished Lifetime Achievement in Journalism.

Past winners of the award, named after the man who oversaw The Wall Street Journal‘s post-World War II growth until his death in 1967, include Bob Bartley, the former editorial page editor of The Journal.

The author of the “Common Sense” column for the Business Day section of the Times, Stewart won the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Journalism in 1988 for his articles in The Journal about the 1987 dramatic upheaval in the stock market and insider trading.

Stewart was named page one editor of the Journalin 1988 but left the paper four years later to found SmartMoneymagazine.

He is the author of 11 books including “Den of Thieves”; “DisneyWar: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom”; “Heart of a Soldier: A Story of Love, Heroism, and September 11th”; and “Tangled Webs: How False Statements are Undermining America from Martha Stewart to Bernie Madoff.”

Stewart, who traces his career back to a term as editor of The DePauw, has been honored with the Edgar Award, the George Polk Award, the Elliott V. Bell Award and Gerald Loeb awards in 1987, 1988 and 2006. He has been called by the San Francisco Examiner “the journalist every journalist would like to be.”

Stewart is Bloomberg Professor of Business and Economic Journalism at Columbia University and is a member and past chair of DePauw’s Board of Trustees.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.