Media Moves

New SABEW board members elected

May 21, 2007

Posted by Chris Roush

Miami Herald business editor Lisa Gibbs, University of North Carolina professor Chris Roush, Dow Jones Newswires reporter Dawn Wotapka Hardesty, CNBC reporter Rebecca Jarvis and editor Ray Hennessey were elected for the first time to the Society of American Business Editors and Writers board on Tuesday.

Re-elected to the board were Seattle Times business editor Becky Bisbee, Virginian-Pilot business editor Bill Choyke, New York Times business reporter Diana Henriques, Arizona Daily Star assistant managing editor Jill Jorden Spitz, Bloomberg News columnist David Wilson and Dallas Morning News personal finance columnist Pamela Yip.

Gibbs, Bisbee, Choyke, Henriques, Spitz and Yip will serve three-year terms. Roush and Wilson will serve two-year terms. Hardesty, Hennessey and Jarvis will serve one-year terms.

Rebecca JarvisWilson and Jarvis actually tied for a two-year slot, and Jarvis won the coin flip to break the tie. Since Wilson had already been on the board, Jarvis gave the two-year position to him and said she would run again next year.

In addition, vice president Gail DeGeorge, business editor of The Sun-Sentinel in Fort Lauderdale, becomes the new SABEW president, succeeding Dave Kansas. Bernie Kohn of the Baltimore Sun becomes the new vice president, while Greg McCune of Reuters becomes the new treasurer and Rob Reuteman of the Rocky Mountain News becomes the new secretary.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.