Media Moves

New Loeb Award final judges announced

May 7, 2007

Posted by Chris Roush

The G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson School of Management announce changes Monday to the final judging panel of the Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

Named as new final judges are: Matthew Bishop, bureau chief, The Economist; Douglas Frantz, managing editor, Los Angeles Times; Chrystia Freeland, U.S. managing editor, Financial Times; Daniel Hertzberg, senior deputy managing editor, The Wall Street Journal; Andrew Serwer, managing editor, Fortune; and Jonathan Wald, senior vice president, business news, CNBC.

Loeb AwardsThe Loeb Awards, considered the Pulitzer Prize of business journalism, recognize journalists who have contributed to the public’s understanding of business, finance and the economy. Loeb Awards final judges serve as advisors to the program and are responsible for selecting winners from among the finalists in the competition categories, as well as the recipients of the career honors, the Lifetime Achievement Award and Lawrence Minard Editor Award.

“All of us affiliated with the Loeb Awards are very pleased to have these leaders in journalism and business news join our esteemed panel of Loeb Awards final judges,” said Richard Rodner, associate dean of marketing and communication at UCLA Anderson and president of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation. “Their professional perspective will contribute greatly to our efforts to continually enhance and ensure the relevance of the Loeb Awards program.”

The new final judges replace Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times; Rik Kirkland, global editor, Fortune; Glen Rochkind, former vice president, business news, CNBC; Paul E. Steiger, vice president and managing editor, The Wall Street Journal; and Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg News.

The new Loeb Awards judges will be joining a leaders in the industry who will be continuing on the panel, including Stephen J. Adler, editor-in-chief, BusinessWeek; Amanda Bennett, executive editor, enterprise, Bloomberg News; Jane Berentson, editor, Inc.; Lou Dobbs, anchor and managing editor, ‘Lou Dobbs Tonight,’ CNN; Steve Forbes, president and editor-in-chief, Forbes; John Hillkirk, executive editor, USA Today; Robert G. Kaiser, associate editor, The Washington Post; Glenn Kramon, assistant managing editor, The New York Times; Judy D. Olian, dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management; and Allan Sloan, Wall Street editor, Newsweek.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.