OLD Media Moves

Loeb finalists announced

May 13, 2009

The finalists for the 2009 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism were announced Wednesday morning.

The Loeb Awards are the highest honors in business journalism. They were established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E. F. Hutton, to encourage quality reporting in the areas of business, finance and the economy in order to inform and protect private investors and the general public. Presented by UCLA Anderson School of Management since 1973, the awards recognize writers, editors and producers of both print and broadcast media for the significant contributions they make in this field.

The finalists in the large newspapers category (circulation of more than 300,000) are:

  • Gretchen Morgenson, Peter S. Goodman, Charles Duhigg, Carter Dougherty, Eric Dash, Julie Creswell, Jo Becker, Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Stephen Labaton for “The Reckoning” in The New York Times
  • Robert O’Harrow Jr. and Brady Dennis for “The Crash: The Rise and Fall of AIG” in The Washington Post
  • Carrick Mollenkamp, Susanne Craig, Jeffrey McCracken, Jon Hilsenrath, Susan Pulliam, Liz Rappaport, Aaron Lucchetti, Jenny Strasburg, Tom McGinty, Serena Ng, Randall Smith and Liam Pleven for “Broken Markets” in The Wall Street Journal
  • John Carreyrou and Barbara Martinez for “Prescription for Profits” in The Wall Street Journal

The finalists in the medium & small newspapers category (circulation of 300,000 or less) are:

  • Jack Dolan, Matthew Haggman and Rob Barry for “Borrowers Betrayed” in The Miami Herald
  • David Heath and Christine Willmsen for “The Favor Factory” in The Seattle Times
  • Ames Alexander, Franco Ordoñez, Kerry Hall and Ted Mellnik for “The Cruelest Cuts” in The Charlotte Observer
  • Andrew McIntosh for “Nail Gun Safety Under Fire” in The Sacramento Bee

The finalists in the magazines category are:

  • David Leonhardt for “Obamanomics” in The New York Times Magazine
  • William Selway and Martin Z. Braun for “Broken Promises” in Bloomberg Markets
  • Michael Lewis for “The End” in Condé Nast Portfolio
  • Peter Elkind for “The Trouble with Steve” in Fortune

See all of the finalists here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.