OLD Media Moves

Loeb Awards seek entries for 2014

January 7, 2015

Posted by Chris Roush

Gerald Loeb AwardsThe UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite all journalists and outlets from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries in 11 competition categories and nominations for two career achievement awards for the 2015 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

The Gerald Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism nationwide and were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy for both the private investor and the general public. UCLA Anderson has been presenting the awards since 1973.

This year, all competition categories are classified Platform Neutral and encourage submissions in all journalistic forms and in any combination of forms – broadcast (video and audio), digital, print, still photography, graphics/data visualization, and social media. The previous Platform Specific categories have been replaced with the new Feature and Local categories. Detailed descriptions of category changes and additions for the 2015 competition can be found online here.

Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2014. All entries must be submitted online at www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu by 11:59:59 p.m. PST on Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015.

Nominations will also be accepted for: (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news; and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.