Media Moves

Loeb Awards now taking entries; new Web category announced

January 14, 2008

Posted by Chris Roush

The G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. and UCLA Anderson School of Management invite business, financial and economic journalists from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries and nominations for the 2008 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

Loeb awardThis year’s competition includes a new online category which rewards excellence in the creative use of multimedia technology and interactivity with emphasis on entries original to the Web.

The Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism, recognizing writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.

Consideration is limited to articles or books and segments published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2007. Completed entry applications and accompanying materials for the 2008 competition must be submitted to the Loeb Awards program office — postmarked no later than Monday, Jan. 28, 2008.

For more information or to receive an entry brochure by mail or e-mail, please contact Mary Ann Lowe, Loeb Awards program manager, at or (310) 206-1877. You may also visit the Loeb Awards web site at to download the entry brochure in PDF format.

The Loeb Awards is also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news, and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing. Nomination procedures for both awards are included in the entry brochure.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.