OLD Media Moves

Loeb Awards now accepting entries

January 19, 2006

The Loeb Awards, considered the Pulitzer Prize of business journalism, are now accepting entries for the 2006 contest. There is a new category for Best Business Book as well.

This morning’s release states: “This year, a new Business Book category has been added to honor the author(s) of the book, published in the United States in calendar year 2005, that has contributed most to the public’s understanding of business, financial and economic issues. Each individual may nominate up to three books each year for the judge’s consideration. Nomination procedures are included in the entry brochure.”

In addition, they are seeking lifetime achievement nominations: “The Loeb Awards is also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news, and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing. Nomination procedures for both awards are included in the entry brochure.”

The Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism were established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to encourage quality reporting in the areas of business, finance and the economy in order to inform and protect private investors and the general public. Judges, drawn from leading print and broadcast media nationwide, select finalists and winners based on quality of reporting and writing, news and analytical value, originality and exclusivity, and in the broadcast categories only, production value and visual impact. UCLA Anderson School of Management has sponsored the Loeb Awards since 1973.

The entire release can be read here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.