OLD Media Moves

WSJ wins three Loebs; Bloomberg and NYTimes win two

June 28, 2011

Posted by Chris Roush

The first two Loeb Awards — and three of the first four — announced Tuesday night went to Dow Jones & Co. news operations.

Julia Angwin, Emily Steel, Scott Thurm, Christina Tsuei, Paul Antonson, Jill Kirschenbaum and Jovi Juan of The Wall Street Journal received the Loeb Award for “What They Know” in the online enterprise category.

Kara Swisher for “Liveblogging Yahoo Earnings Calls in 2010 (They’re Funny!)” at All Things Digital won in the blogging category.

The Loebs, considered the most prestigious award in business journalism, are being presented Tuesday night at a dinner in New York. A tribute to former CNBC anchor Mark Haines, who died suddenly earlier this year, was shown during the ceremony.

Here are the rest of the winners, given more or less in chronological order of when they were announced during the night:

Sebastian Mallaby for “More Money Than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite” published by The Penguin Press won in the business book category.

In the breaking news category, Tom Lauricella, Peter A. McKay, Scott Patterson, Jenny Strasburg, Robin Sidel, Carolyn Cui and Mary Pilon of The Journal won for “Flash Crash.”

In the news service category, the winner is David Evans for “Profiting From Fallen Soldiers” in Bloomberg News. Bloomberg’s Daniel Golden, John Hechinger and John Lauerman also won in the beat reporting category for “Education Inc.”

In the medium and small newspaper category, there are two winners — Chris Serres and Glenn Howatt of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune for “Hounded — Debtors and the New Breed of Collectors” and Michael J. Berens of the Seattle Times for “Seniors for Sale.”

In the magazine category, the winners are Amanda Bennett and Charles R. Babcock in Bloomberg Businessweek for “End-of-Life Warning at $618,616 Makes Me Wonder Was It Worth It,” a moving piece about the death of Bennett’s husband.

Ron Lieber of the New York Times won in the personal finance category for “Student Debt.” Paul Krugman, also from the Times, won in the commentary category for various columns.

CNBC‘s Mitch Weitzner, Scott Cohn, Jeff Pohlman, Emily Bodenberg and Steven Banton won in the television enterprise category for “Remington Under Fire: A CNBC Investigation.”

In the explanatory category, the winners are David Nicklaus and Tim Logan for “Edifice Complex” in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

And the final winner of the evening, in the large newspaper category, is Ben Casselman, Russell Gold, Douglas A. Blackmon, Vanessa O’Connell, Alexandra Berzon and Ana Campoy for “Deep Trouble” in The Journal.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.