OLD Media Moves

Entries sought for Business Book of the Year competition

April 3, 2017

Posted by Chris Roush

2016 Business Book of the Year finalistsSubmissions are now being accepted for the 2017 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award.

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, will chair the panel of judges for the Business Book of the Year Award.

The Business Book of the Year Award is designed to highlight the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. Eligible for consideration are business books in the English language that are first published between Nov. 16, 2016 and Nov. 15, 2017.

The deadline for entries is June 30, 2017 and the entry form is available online.

The judging panel will then select a shortlist of up to six authors, which will be announced at a luncheon in London on Sept. 19.

The judging panel includes:

  • Mitchell Baker, executive chairwoman, Mozilla Foundation;
  • Mohamed El-Erian, chief economic advisor, Allianz (winner, 2008, When Markets Collide);
  • Herminia Ibarra, Cora chaired professor of leadership and learning and professor of organisational behavior, INSEAD;
  • Rik Kirkland, partner, Global Publishing, McKinsey & Co.;
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R Bobins professor of economics, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business;
  • Dambisa Moyo, director, Barclays Bank, SABMiller, Barrick Gold; and
  • Shriti Vadera, chair, Santander UK; Director, Shriti Vadera Ltd; non-executive director, BHP Billiton and AstraZeneca

The winner will be announced at the Awards Dinner co-hosted by Barber and Dominic Barton, global managing director of McKinsey, at Lotte New York Palace in New York on Nov. 6.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.