OLD Media Moves

Entries being accepted for Barlett & Steele Awards

April 28, 2009

Entries Are Now Being Accepted for the Third Annual Barlett and Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism.

Named for the two-time Pulitzer Prize winning investigative business journalist team of Don Barlett and Jim Steele, these awards, funded by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism, celebrate the best in print and online investigative business journalism.Â

The annual awards were first given out in fall 2007, and feature a Gold award of $5,000 and a Silver prize of $2,000.

For the 2009 awards, entries must have appeared between July 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009. Submission deadline is Aug. 3.

“The economic downturn has rightly put intense focus on scandal, greed and inequities throughout business and government,” said Andrew Leckey, president of the Reynolds Center at the ASU Cronkite School, in a statement. “Journalists at all sizes of publications and sites in the first two years of these awards have shown their determination to take on tough investigative business stories ranging from local neighborhood issues to global concerns.”

Barlett and Steele, who won two Pulitzers with The Philadelphia Inquirer and two National Magazine Awards at Time, have worked together for more than three decades. They are contributing editors to Vanity Fair.

Read more here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.