Media Moves

Dow Jones

February 12, 2008

Posted by Chris Roush

Judges of the 14th annual William R. Clabby Dow Jones Newswires Awards competition today named 12 wire service journalists and three newsletters journalists to share seven awards for their exemplary work during 2007.

Dow Jones NewswiresThe news wires winners are:

  • Indochina Bureau Chief Stephen Wright, in his capacity during 2007 as Singapore bureau chief, for his coverage of an apparent conflict of interest by the CEO of the Singapore stock exchange.
  • London energy reporter Spencer Swartz, for a series of Middle East energy scoops and features.
  • Columnists Arindam Nag, Angelo Franchini and Sean Walters of London, and News Editor Matthew Curtin of Paris, for “The Skeptic” columns. The judges cited Arindam’s work as particularly worth of commendation.
  • Wall Street Journal reporter Damian Paletta, in his capacity during 2007 as a Washington bureau reporter for Newswires, and Vancouver, Wash.-based “In the Money” columnist Steven D. Jones, for their coverage of aspects of the U.S. subprime credit crisis.
  • Asia-Pacific Markets managing editor Rosalind Mathieson in Singapore, and U.S. stock-market columnist Spencer Jakab, for their columns on daily happenings in the capital markets.
  • London hedge funds reporter Margot Patrick and Asia-Pacific equities news editor Mohammed Hadi, in his capacity during 2007 as equity options markets reporter in Harborside, for exposing various ways that derivatives played a role in some of the biggest financial stories during 2007.
  • The winning newsletters entry came from Peg Brickley in Wilmington, Del., and Kristina Doss and Patrick Fitzgerald in Washington for their coverage of the role bankruptcy laws played in the subprime credit crisis.

Each award carries a $2,500 prize. Shared awards are divided among recipients. Trophies will be presented at a global awards dinner April 17 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Harborside, N.J.

Neal Lipschutz, senior vice president and managing editor of Newswires, chaired the judging panel, which also included Bill Grueskin, deputy managing editor of The Wall Street Journal; Sylvia Nasar, the John S. and James L. Knight Professor at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism; Richard Rescigno, managing editor of Barron’s; and Martha Steffens, holder of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers Chair in Business and Financial Journalism at the University of Missouri.

Clabby worked at Dow Jones from 1953 to 1996, and was editor of the southwest edition of The Journal. He also worked for the wire service.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.