OLD Media Moves

Barlett & Steele Awards now accepting entries

February 25, 2014

Posted by Chris Roush

The Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism is now accepting entries for the Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism.

Named for two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists Don Barlett and Jim Steele, the awards were first given in 2007 and have featured a gold award of $5,000 and a silver prize of $2,000. Due to the growing number of exceptional submissions each year, a bronze award of $1,000 was added in 2011.

Entries for the 2014 award must have appeared in the year ending June 30, 2014. Each media outlet may submit no more than two entries. Submission deadline is Aug. 1, 2014, at 11:59 p.m. PT.

Applications will be accepted only online and from editors or the contest coordinator designated by your news organization. Applicants will need to provide the following on the Barlett & Steele Contest Entry Form.

  • Contact information for the editor submitting the entry.
  • An editor’s letter outlining any (a) obstacles in reporting, (b) reforms or impact after publication and (c) corrections or challenges to accuracy. It can be submitted as a Word document (.doc) or an Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf) file.
  • Up to four articles, submitted as either an active URL or as a Word document (.doc) or Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf). A sidebar counts as an article.

Applicants do not have to file all elements in one sitting, but all elements must be uploaded before the application is submitted for consideration.

Questions? Email Andrew Leckey, Reynolds Center president, or call 602-496-9186.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.