Highlighted News

2019 Loeb Award finalists are announced

May 16, 2019

Posted by Chris Roush

The following 2019 Gerald Loeb Award finalists were chosen from more than 475 entries submitted in all mediums by local, regional and national outlets and individual journalists:

Audio Category Finalists

  • Liz Essley White, Joe Yerardi and Alison Fitzgerald Kodjak for “Medicaid, Under the Influence” – The Center for Public Integrity and NPR
  • Will Evans, Alyssa Jeong Perry, Katharine Miezkowski, Taki Telonidis, Fernando Arruda, Jim Briggs, Ziva Branstetter and Mwende Hinojosa for “Insult to Injury” – Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Ilya Marritz, Andrea Bernstein, Charlie Herman, Heather Vogell, Anjali Kamat, Eric Umansky, Alice Wilder, Bill Moss, Wayne Shulmister, Esther Kaplan, Megan Detrie, Katherine Sullivan, Rick Kwan, Nick Varchevar, Robin Fields, Jim Schachter and Stephen Engelberg for “Trump, Inc.” – WNYC and ProPublica

Beat Reporting Category Finalists

  • Alana Semuels for “How Amazon is Changing America” – The Atlantic
  • Andrew Khouri and Emily Albert Reyes for “Southern California’s Housing Crunch is Now a Crisis” – Los Angeles Times
  • Daisuke Wakabayashi, Katie Benner and Kate Conger for “Google’s Andy Rubin Problem” – The New York Times
  • Peter Gosselin, Ariana Tobin and Ranjani Chakraborty for “Age Discrimination” – ProPublica and Vox

Breaking News Category Finalists

  • John Ewoldt, Kristen Leigh Painter, Evan Ramstad and Lee Schafer for “The Sale of Supervalu” – Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Cecilia Kang, Edmund Lee, Emily Cochrane, Andrew Ross Sorkin, James B. Stewart and Michael J. de la Merced for “The AT&T/Time Warner Antitrust Verdict” – The New York Times
  • Scott Calvert, Eliot Brown, Peter Grant, Tawnell Hobbs, Katie Honan, Melissa Korn, Douglas MacMillan, Eric Morath, Keiko Morris, Shayndi Raice, Stephanie Stamm, Laura Stevens, Jimmy Vielkind and Lauren Weber for “Amazon’s HQ2 About-Face” – The Wall Street Journal
  • Alexandra Bruell, Drew FitzGerald, Joe Flint, Brent Kendall, Shalani Ramachandran and Erlich Schwartzel for “AT&T-Time Warner Verdict” – The Wall Street Journal

Commentary Category Finalists

  • Shira Ovide for “Shira Ovide Columns” – Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Andy Kessler for “Inside View” – The Wall Street Journal
  • Catherine Rampell for “Columns by Catherine Rampell” – The Washington Post
  • Rick Newman for “Rick Newman Commentary Series” – Yahoo! Finance

Explanatory Category Finalists

  • Zachary R. Mider, Zeke Faux, Demetrios Pogkas and David Ingold for “Sign Here to Lose Everything” – Bloomberg News
  • The New York Times Staff for “China Rules” – The New York Times
  • Natalie Kitroeff and Jessica Silver-Greenberg for “Working While Pregnant, and Paying the Price” – The New York Times
  • Marshall Allen for “The Health Insurance Hustle” – ProPublica

Feature Category Finalists

  • Mark Arax for “A Kingdom from Dust” – California Sunday Magazine
  • Jeffrey Ball for “Lone Star Rising” – Fortune
  • James B. Stewart, Rachel Abrams and Ellen Gabler for “‘If Bobbie Talks, I’m Finished’: How Les Moonves Tried to Silence an Accuser” – The New York Times
  • Katherine Rosman for “The Itsy-Bitsy, Teenie-Weenie, Very Litigious Bikini” – The New York Times

International Category Finalists

  • Matthew Campbell for “A Chinese Casino has Conquered a Piece of America” – Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Stanley Pignal for “India’s Missing Middle Class” – The Economist
  • Steve Stecklow for “Hatebook” – Reuters
  • Andy Greenberg for “The Code that Crashed the World: The Untold Story of NotPetya, The Most Devastating Cyberattack in History” – Wired

Investigative Category Finalists

  • Nicholas Confessore, Matthew Rosenberg, Carole Cadwalladr, Sheera Frenkel, Paul Mozur, Jack Nicas, Gabriel J.X. Dance, Michael LaForgia and Brian X. Chen for “Facebook, Disinformation and Privacy” – The New York Times
  • David Barstow, Susanne Craig and Russ Buettner for “The Trump Family’s Tax Schemes” – The New York Times
  • Joshua Schneyer, Michael Pell, Andrea Januta and Deborah Nelson for “Ambushed at Home” – Reuters
  • Lisa Girion for “Powder Keg” – Reuters

Local Category Finalists

  • Cary Aspinwall, Allan James Vestal and Holly K. Hacker for “Time Bomb: How Atmos Energy’s Natural Gas Keeps Blowing Up Texas Homes” – The Dallas Morning News
  • Jack Dolan, Ryan Menezes and Gus Garcia-Roberts for “Gaming the System: How Cops and Firefighters Cashed In on L.A.’s Pension Program” – Los Angeles Times
  • Charles Ornstein and Katie Thomas for “Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Crisis” – ProPublica and The New York Times
  • Mark Puente and Zachary T. Sampson for “CareerSource” – Tampa Bay Times

Personal Service Category Finalists

  • Liz Szabo for “Treatment Overkill” – Kaiser Health News
  • James Rufus Koren and Andrew Khouri for “The Hidden Cost of High-Interest Rate Installment Loans” – Los Angeles Times
  • Ron Lieber for “The Daunting Road to Forgiveness” – The New York Times
  • Heather Gillers, Leslie Scism, Michael M. Phillips, Janet Adamy, Anne Tergesen and Paul Overberg for “The Retirement Precipice” – The Wall Street Journal

Video Category Finalists

  • David Alter, Faye Gilbert, Arthur Sharples and Catherine Houlihan for “Tracking the Traffickers” – The Economist
  • Rick Young, Laura Sullivan, Emma Schwartz, Fritz Kramer and Kate McCormick for “Blackout in Puerto Rico” – Frontline PBS and NPR
  • Nadia Sussman, Kathleen Flynn and Finlay Young for “Unprotected” – ProPublica and Time
  • Isabelle Niu, Nikhil Sonnad, Hannah Yi, Jia Li, Eduardo Araujo and Arielle Ray for “Quartz News: China” – Quartz

Visual Storytelling Finalists

  • Tom Randall and Dean Halford for “Tesla Tracker” – Bloomberg News
  • The New York Times Staff for “China Rules” – The New York Times
  • Noah Barkin, Jennifer Hughes, Howard Schneider, Karolina Tagaris, Weiyi Cai, Adam Wiesen, Michael Ovaska, Lea Desrayand, Gustavo Cabrera and Christian Inton for “10 Years On” – Reuters


Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.