Media News

WSJ’s Gershkovich to receive Pearl Award

May 21, 2024

Posted by Chris Roush

Evan Gershkovich

The Los Angeles Press Club announced Tuesday that the 2024 Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism will go to Evan Gershkovich of the Wall Street Journal, the same outlet Daniel Pearl worked for.

“We are extremely pleased to see the Daniel Pearl Award being awarded to Evan Gershkovich who, like Danny before him, has come to symbolize Press Freedom and the importance of truthful reporting,” said Judea Pearl, speaking for both himself and his family, in a statement. “We hope this award brings hope and encouragement to Evan as he is awaiting justice, and sends a strong message to the Russian Government that, despite attempts to disrupt world orders, the free world still holds the safety of journalists as a sanctuary of civilized society.”

Gershkovich has been wrongfully detained in a Russian prison for more than one year. He was arrested by Russia’s Federal Security Service on false allegations and charged with espionage in March 2023. This is the first time since the Cold War that Russia has brought allegations of espionage against a U.S. reporter in Russia. Both the Journal and the U.S. government vehemently deny the charge against Evan.

“Evan’s situation is a stark and painful reminder of just how critical an independent and free press is today. There is nowhere Daniel Pearl’s legacy looms larger than The Wall Street Journal, and we’re incredibly grateful to the Los Angeles Press Club for recognizing Evan and for highlighting what’s at stake at a time when many are emboldened to silence journalists simply for doing their job,” said Paul Beckett, assistant editor for The Journal, in a statement

Since 2002 the Los Angeles Press Club, in conjunction with Judea and Ruth Pearl, the parents of slain Journal journalist Daniel Pearl, have handed out this prestigious award. Sadly Ruth left us in 2021.

The 2024 award will be presented by Judea Pearl at an Awards Gala Dinner at the historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles on Sunday, June 23. Past recipients include Richard EngelAnna PolitkovskayaBob WoodruffJason RezianNima Elbagir and Charlie Hedbo.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.