Media News

NYFWA seeks entries for its Impact Award

October 4, 2022

Posted by Chris Roush

The New York Financial Writers’ Association is accepting nominations for its 2021 Impact Award for Distinguished Financial Journalism.

Launched in 2019, the award is an effort to honor a distinguished story or body of work by reporters whose work spurred impact during the previous calendar year, irrespective of when the story or stories were published. It is recognition for financial reporting that cast an early spotlight on important issues and spur impact.

The award’s inaugural honorees were Carrick Mollenkamp and Mark Whitehouse, who were chosen for their 2008 coverage in in the Wall Street Journal of Libor –the London interbank offered rate, and how it was becoming an unreliable interest rate benchmark. The benchmark, set by borrowing rates submitted by banks, underpins everything from home mortgages to corporate loans.

Last year’s award went to Dan McCrum, Stefania Palma, Olaf Storbeck, a team of journalists at the Financial Times, for their series of articles that exposed a massive fraud at Wirecard, one of Europe’s top technology companies. Links to the work they were awarded for can be found HERE.

If you know of a story, or series of stories, that you believe fits the criteria for this award –stories that have had a demonstrable impact on the world, whether by spurring investigations, changing laws or holding the powerful to account, please nominate those pieces and their writer/writers for this year’s award. Self-nominations are fine as well.

Nominations must be received by Oct. 29, 2022, and can be submitted through the following link:

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.