Media News

Loeb Awards now accepting entries

March 1, 2023

Posted by Chris Roush

The Gerald Loeb Awards open the 2023 Call for Entries for the highest honor in business journalism in the United States.

UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite individual journalists and all print, online and broadcast media outlets to submit entries in 12 competition categories for the 2023 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

Nominations will also be accepted for two career achievement honors, the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award.

The Gerald Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism in the United States.

This year’s call for entries marks the beginning of the Loeb Foundation’s 50th year with UCLA Anderson. Gerald Loeb designated UCLA Anderson the steward of the Loeb Foundation and Awards in 1973. UCLA Anderson Dean Antonio Bernardo chairs the awards’ final judging committee of leading journalists, news executives and academics.

Loeb was a founding partner of E.F. Hutton and established the awards in 1957. He deeply appreciated the significant role journalists fulfill in society and created the awards to encourage and support reporting on business and finance that will inform and protect both the private investor and the public. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that operates primarily on competition entry fees, banquet ticket sales, sponsorships and private support.

Website, Deadlines and Eligibility

All entries and nominations must be submitted online at The entry site provides submitters easy access to updated details and guidelines to start the entry process for a secure and fast experience powered by the Award Force platform.

The #LoebAwards competition entries deadline is Friday, March 31, 2023, at 11:59:59 p.m. Pacific Time. Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during the calendar year 2022.

Each category in the competition group is eligible for submissions with elements in all journalistic forms (including those produced for mobile distribution) and in any combination of forms: broadcast (video, audio and podcasts), digital/online, print, still photography, graphics, interactives, data visualization, blogs, news apps and social media.

Nominations in the career achievement categories have an extended deadline of Thursday, June 1, 2023. The categories in the career achievement group are open for nominations of journalists or editors who have shown significant dedication and leadership in the industry. Organizations or individuals may submit more than one journalist or editor for career achievement consideration.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.