Media Moves

Washington Post announces promotions on video enterprise team

April 28, 2022

Posted by Mariam Ahmed

The following excerpt was sent out from The Washington Post’s director of video Micah Gelman, executive producer of original video David Bruns and senior producer for video enterprise team Angela M. Hill:

Whitney Shefte becomes senior video reporter. Her awards include a Peabody Award and multiple Edward R. Murrow awards. She was named Multimedia Journalist of the Year in 2019 by the White House News Photographers Association, where she has served as president since 2015. Whitney first came to WPNI in 2006 as a photo and multimedia intern, back when the paper and website were separate entities.

Lee Powell becomes senior video reporter. Lee first came to The Post in 2013 as a show producer for PostTV before moving to the VJ team. Before The Post, Lee was a video editor at the Associated Press in Washington and a metro reporter at the Dallas Morning News, where, in 2005, he was the first writer to pick up a video camera.

Zoeann Murphy becomes senior video reporter. In 2019, she won the Ben Bradlee Award for Courage in Journalism. Most recently, Zoeann reported from Poland on the refugee crisis at the Ukraine border.

Whitney Leaming becomes senior video reporter. Often the first to raise her hand to cover breaking news, Whitney has covered the aftermath of Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico and the outbreak of Ebola in West Africa. Since coming to The Post as an intern in 2013, Whitney has won three Edward R. Murrow Awards, a Scripps Howard Award, World Press Photo Awards and the Ben Bradlee Award for Courage in Journalism.

Jorge Ribas becomes senior video reporter. Jorge came to the enterprise team in 2015 and has covered mass shootingswildfirestornadoes and far-right rallies. Before coming to The Post in 2014, Jorge spent six years as a science video journalist at Discovery Channel.

Jon Gerberg becomes senior video reporter. Jon came to The Post in 2017 and has reported from VenezuelaGazaAfghanistan and most recently Ukraine. He has also won a Peabody, an Edward R. Murrow Award and a Webby. Prior to The Post, Jon was a freelance reporter for the New York Times and Associated Press before becoming a foreign affairs producer for “PBS Newshour.”


Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.