Media Moves

Scripps Howard Awards announces finalists in 14 categories

March 10, 2021

Posted by Mariam Ahmed

The Scripps Howard Awards will be awarding $160,000 in prize money for work across 14 categories and the coveted Impact Award.

Liz Carter, president and CEO of the Scripps Howard Foundation, said:

“Following a year that challenged journalists to navigate a global pandemic, societal unrest and intense partisanship, it’s more important than ever to recognize journalists’ roles as the eyes and ears of our communities. We see a common theme in the reporting recognized – tenacity to hold the powerful accountable, protect our democracy and inform fellow citizens.

“It’s an honor to recognize those who continued to work tirelessly in the background while the events of this last year unfolded.”

A panel of veteran journalists and media industry leaders met virtually last month to judge entries for the competition and selected the list of finalists from 900 entries.

The judges also selected one entry from the list of 2020 winners as the recipient of the Impact Award, which recognizes journalism that serves the public through coverage of an issue leading to changes in the public, private or business sector. This award will be announced on April 21, 2021, along with the other winners, during a virtual celebration, streamed on Facebook and YouTube.

The New York Times and The Washington Post are the front-runners, each with three entries selected as finalists.

A full list of finalists can be viewed here.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.