Media Moves

Journalists honored with the 2020 SEAL Environmental Journalism Award

February 18, 2021

Posted by Mariam Ahmed

Twelve journalists have been awarded a 2020 SEAL Environmental Journalism Award which highlights their work in bringing climate knowledge, justice, and action to the forefront of public discourse.

The awards were chaired by Emily Wasley, Corporate Climate Resilience Practice Leader with WSP USA.

Wasley says:

“Over the past several years, the field of journalism has been questioned considerably because of the amount of misinformation that exists in our globally interconnected and oftentimes volatile world. Because of this, we rely on trusted journalists for information that is based on sound science and factual evidence.

“The journalists that have been identified as exemplary to receive a SEAL Award are not shying away from revealing the truth or calling out those that are further exacerbating our climate crisis. Journalism is imperative to help our society understand what is happening behind the curtain and inform them of the subsequent pain and suffering that climate change is having on our frontline communities. We must protect the field of journalism and the right to free, factual speech that is based on sound science to remain informed of the myriad of challenges and opportunities every one of us will experience today and into the future.”

The winners were:

  • Fiona Harvey of The Guardian
  • Alexander C. Kaufman of Huffington Post
  • Dave Roberts of Volts
  • Lisa Friedman of The New York Times
  • Shannon Osaka of Grist
  • Zoya Tierstein of Grist
  • James Temple of The MIT Technology Review
  • Brian L. Kahn of Earther
  • Jeff Brady of NPR
  • Juliet Eilperin of The Washington Post
  • Rhett A. Butler of Mongabay
  • Mary Annaise Heglar, Freelance Climate Essayist

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.