Media Moves

Entries open for the 70th Scripps Howard Awards

January 9, 2023

Posted by Mariam Ahmed

The following excerpt was sent out:

The 70th Scripps Howard Awards, one of the nation’s most prestigious American journalism competitions, is accepting entries through Feb. 5, 2023, for journalism and storytelling produced in 2022.

Click here to apply for the 70th Scripps Howard Awards.

With a focus on high-impact and investigative reporting, the Scripps Howard Awards, presented by the Scripps Howard Fund, offers $170,000 in prize money in 15 categories. Categories include:

  • Audio Storytelling*
  • Breaking News
  • Business/Financial Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • Distinguished Service to the First Amendment
  • Narrative Human-Interest Storytelling*
  • Visual Human-Interest Storytelling*
  • Innovation
  • Local/Regional Investigative Reporting
  • National/International Investigative Reporting
  • Multimedia Journalism
  • Opinion Writing
  • Local Video Storytelling*
  • National/International Video Storytelling*
  • Impact Award

*The Scripps Howard Fund made changes to five categories this year to better align with the journalism industry.

Finalists will be announced in September, with winners announced in October during a special program airing on Scripps News, formerly Newsy, the national broadcast news network owned by The E.W. Scripps Company.


Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry daily or weekly.

Subscribe to TBN

Receive updates about new stories in the industry.